BEd Senior Phase and Further Education and Training Teaching

By | January 16, 2017

BEd Senior Phase and Further Education and Training Teaching

Admission Requirements

  • The following persons will be considered for admission: a candidate who is in possession of a certificate that is deemed by the University to be equivalent to the required Grade 12 certificate with university endorsement; a candidate who is a graduate from another tertiary institution or has been granted the status of a graduate of such an institution; and a candidate who is a graduate of another faculty at the University of Pretoria.
  • Life Orientation is excluded when calculating the APS.
  • Prospective students with an APS of 26-29 must write the National Benchmark Test (NBT). Final admission is determined by the Admissions Committee of the Faculty and is based on the results of the NBT.
  • As soon as candidates are admitted to the BEd degree, they will be informed that they must register at the University in January of the following year. It is in the interest of prospective students to apply as soon as possible, particularly in respect of financial support and/or residence placement.

09133031
Faculty of Education
Duration of study: 4 years
Total credits: 680

BEd Senior Phase and Further Education and Training Teaching

Examinations and pass requirements

Special examinations

  • A third-year student who has failed a maximum of four semester modules or the equivalent thereof, with a final mark of at least 40% in each, may be admitted by the Dean to a special examination in those modules during January of the following year, provided that this will enable the student to comply with all requirements for promotion to the fourth year of study.
  • A final-year BEd student requiring a maximum of 4 semester modules or the equivalent thereof to complete his or her degree, with a final mark of 40% in each, may be admitted to a special examination, during January of the following year. If the special examination is conducted before 1 February, a student is not required to register again and the examination is treated as a supplementary examination. If the special examination is conducted on or after 1 February, the student must register again for the module(s) in question and the lecturer may require that a semester mark be obtained in an appropriate manner. In such a case, the result of the examination will not be taken into consideration with a view to the graduation ceremonies in March/April.

Pass with Distinction

The degree is conferred with distinction to a student who obtains an overall weighted average (GPA) of 75% or higher in the BEd programme, with the condition that the degree is completed in the prescribed 4 years.

BEd Senior Phase and Further Education and Training Teaching

Education General Enquiries:  +27 (0)12 420 4670 or Vida Moses, +27 (0)12 420 4216  vida.moses@up.ac.za
Undergraduate: Thandi Mngomezulu  +27 (0)12 420 5615 thandi.mngomezulu@up.ac.za or Hannie de Weerd +27 (0)12 420 5644 hannie.deweerd@up.ac.za
Postgraduate: Bronwynne Swarts +27 (0)12420 5679 bronwynne.swarts@up.ac.za or Pulane Tau +27 (0)12 420 2725 pulane.tau@up.ac.za,
Distance Education: Rita Venter +27 (0)12420 5589 rita.venter@up.ac.za or Lorinda Theart +27 (0)12 420 4426 lorinda.theart@up.ac.za