BEdHons General

By | January 23, 2017

 

Image result for university of pretoria

BEdHons General

Admission Requirements

A candidate can be admitted if he/she holds one of the following qualifications:
• a Bachelor’s degree and a teacher’s diploma/Postgraduate Certificate in Education (eg BA + HED); or
• a four year composite degree in Education (eg BEd, BAEd); or
• an M+4 appropriate teacher’s diploma, subject to specific approval; or
• an appropriate Advanced Diploma in Education; or
• another academic qualification and appropriate prior learning, considered equivalent by the Dean for admission to a specific package.

Additional Requirements

Selection is based on:

  • Meeting the minimum academic requirements required for admission;
  • Previous academic performance;
  • Applicable academic and/or teaching background;
  • Availability of supervision for the required research project;
  • Proven academic potential which may include academic communication and computer application skills;
  • Additionally, an interview may be requested;
  • The requirements of professional registration bodies;
  • The discretion of the head of department.

Other programme-specific information

In addition to the listed programmes, a student may register for a selection of modules which does not conform to a specific package. This requires a written application which is recommended by the Head of Department in which the research project is to be pursued and approved by the Dean. The Head of
Department may require specific modules to be taken. The written application is to be submitted to the Dean through Student Administration after a recommendation has been obtained from the Head of Department.
Such a specially approved combination must consist of a minimum of 128 credits, and must contain at least the core modules NMQ 745, CDD 710 and EDS 711 together with at least 48 credits of elective modules drawn from the listed packages.
The research project consists of NMQ 755 and one of the research report modules (AQA 780, CDV 780, CIE 780, WEM 781, LSG 780 or SMP 780). At least one of the modules of the combination must be cognate with the research project.
The degree will be awarded as the Bachelor of Education Honours (General).
CONTACT US
General Enquiries:  +27 (0)12 420 4670 or Vida Moses, +27 (0)12 420 4216  vida.moses@up.ac.za
Undergraduate: Thandi Mngomezulu  +27 (0)12 420 5615 thandi.mngomezulu@up.ac.za or Hannie de Weerd +27 (0)12 420 5644 hannie.deweerd@up.ac.za
Postgraduate: Bronwynne Swarts +27 (0)12420 5679 bronwynne.swarts@up.ac.za or Pulane Tau +27 (0)12 420 2725 pulane.tau@up.ac.za,
Distance Education: Rita Venter +27 (0)12420 5589 rita.venter@up.ac.za or Lorinda Theart +27 (0)12 420 4426 lorinda.theart@up.ac.za