MEd Adult and Community Education and Training

By | January 23, 2017

Image result for university of pretoria

MEd Adult and Community Education and Training

Admission Requirements

MEd Adult and Community Education and Training, Subject to the stipulations of General Regulations G.30 to G.62 a candidate can be admitted if he/she complies with the following requirements:

  •  a BEdHons degree/BEd (Postgraduate); or
  •  an applicable honours degree and a teacher’s diploma; and
  •  have achieved an average of at least 60% in the honours or related examination.

Senate may:

  •  grant a graduate of another university (either in South Africa or elsewhere) a status at the University that is equivalent to the status the student has at such other higher education institution;
  •  admit a person, who
  • has passed examinations at another university or institution (either in South Africa or elsewhere) which Senate deems equivalent to or higher than the examinations prescribed for a degree at the University which are set as a prerequisite for admission to a particular postgraduate study programme or for the admission of such a person as a research student; ot
  • in another manner has reached a standard of competence Senate considers adequate for the purposes of postgraduate study or research at the University as a student for a postgraduate degree or certificate

Additional Requirements

Selection is based on:

  • meeting the minimum academic requirements required for admission;
  • previous academic performance;
  • applicable academic and/or teaching background;
  • availability of supervision for the required research project;
  • proven academic potential which may include academic communication and computer application skills;
  • additionally, an interview may be requested;
  • the requirements of professional registration bodies;
  • the discretion of the head of department.

Other programme-specific information

  • Renewal of registration after the two-year period is permitted only under special circumstances in which case the head of department may give approval for a limited fixed extension of this period in terms of the set procedures.
  • Students will be granted two opportunities to pass NMQ 800. Unsuccessful candidates will not be allowed to continue with the programme.
  • This requirement applies to both the full research as well as the coursework master’s degrees.

 
CONTACT US
General Enquiries:  +27 (0)12 420 4670 or Vida Moses, +27 (0)12 420 4216  vida.moses@up.ac.za
Undergraduate: Thandi Mngomezulu  +27 (0)12 420 5615 thandi.mngomezulu@up.ac.za or Hannie de Weerd +27 (0)12 420 5644 hannie.deweerd@up.ac.za
Postgraduate: Bronwynne Swarts +27 (0)12420 5679 bronwynne.swarts@up.ac.za or Pulane Tau +27 (0)12 420 2725 pulane.tau@up.ac.za,
Distance Education: Rita Venter +27 (0)12420 5589 rita.venter@up.ac.za or Lorinda Theart +27 (0)12 420 4426 lorinda.theart@up.ac.za