MEd Educational Psychology (Coursework)

By | January 23, 2017

 

Image result for university of pretoria

MEd Educational Psychology (Coursework)

Programme Information

The closing date for applications for the programme is 31 July and selection takes place in August. The programme includes practical work per week that enables students to comply with the requirements for registration as an Educational Psychologist with the Health Professions Council of South Africa, after completion of an internship in Educational Psychology at an institution approved by the abovementioned Council for this purpose. The University is under no obligation to provide students with or assist them in finding internships.
Students are provisionally selected during the formal selection that takes place in August. Finalisation of selection takes place in the following June of every year. The Department of Educational Psychology therefore reserves the right to reconsider a student’s admission to the programme during the first six months of study, based on both demonstrated training and career-orientated ability.

Admission Requirements

A compulsory selection form has to be completed together with the UP application form.
A candidate can be admitted if he/she complies with the following requirements:
  •  a BEdHons degree/BEd (Postgraduate); or
  •  an applicable honours degree and a teacher’s diploma; and
  •  have achieved an average of at least 60% in the honours or related examination.

Senate may:

  •  grant a graduate of another university (either in South Africa or elsewhere) a status at the University that is equivalent to the status the student has at such other higher education institution;
  •  admit a person, who
  • has passed examinations at another university or institution (either in South Africa or elsewhere) which Senate deems equivalent to or higher than the examinations prescribed for a degree at the University which are set as a prerequisite for admission to a particular postgraduate study programme or for the admission of such a person as a research student; ot
  • in another manner has reached a standard of competence Senate considers adequate for the purposes of postgraduate study or research at the University as a student for a postgraduate degree or certificate

Additional admission requirements

  •  Education III
  •  Psychology III
  •  BEdHons degree in Educational Psychology/BPsych-degree/Honours degree in Psychology

CONTACT US
General Enquiries:  +27 (0)12 420 4670 or Vida Moses, +27 (0)12 420 4216  vida.moses@up.ac.za
Undergraduate: Thandi Mngomezulu  +27 (0)12 420 5615 thandi.mngomezulu@up.ac.za or Hannie de Weerd +27 (0)12 420 5644 hannie.deweerd@up.ac.za
Postgraduate: Bronwynne Swarts +27 (0)12420 5679 bronwynne.swarts@up.ac.za or Pulane Tau +27 (0)12 420 2725 pulane.tau@up.ac.za,
Distance Education: Rita Venter +27 (0)12420 5589 rita.venter@up.ac.za or Lorinda Theart +27 (0)12 420 4426 lorinda.theart@up.ac.za