PGCE Further Education and Training Teaching

By | January 23, 2017

 

Image result for university of pretoria

PGCE Further Education and Training Teaching

Programme Information

The PGCE consists of a university-based learning (UBL) component and a school-based learning (SBL) component. The UBL component is presented in the format of learning shops during which students construct a practice theory of and for education. For the purpose of the SBL component, students are placed in two partnerships schools with different compositions for 8 weeks each (a total of 16 weeks), during which they engage in education practice while they are supported and assessed by qualified mentor teachers and university lecturers.
The choices in compiling the package have to be approved by the package coordinator before registration.

Admission Requirements

The MRTEQ policy (Gazette 34467) stipulates that the minimum admission requirement into a PGCE is an appropriate diploma or bachelor’s degree. An appropriate diploma or degree should include sufficient disciplinary learning in appropriate academic fields to enable the development of teaching specialisation or/and subjects as specified for each school phase. The MRTEQ policy also clearly defines minimum entrance requirement guidelines in terms of sufficient subject knowledge per qualifier, some specialisations and DHET approved diplomas (the DHET will publish a list of approved diplomas for entry into an Advanced Diploma in Teaching). Furthermore, a student’s choice in elective modules depends on the phase that a student qualifies for. In this regard the MRTEQ policy describes various factors that influence the range of teaching specialisations. These include:

  • Specialised pedagogical content addressing the particular qualifier;
  • Specialist requirements for the knowledge mix per qualifier;
  • Minimum admission requirements;
  • Approved teaching specialisations for Initial Teacher Education Qualifications;
  • Approved basic competences of a beginner teacher.
  • Appropriate major subject at least at completed second-year level at NQF level 7.
  • For complex subjects, the appropriate co-subject(s) must be completed to at least level 6 (see programme modules).

CONTACT US
General Enquiries:  +27 (0)12 420 4670 or Vida Moses, +27 (0)12 420 4216  vida.moses@up.ac.za
Undergraduate: Thandi Mngomezulu  +27 (0)12 420 5615 thandi.mngomezulu@up.ac.za or Hannie de Weerd +27 (0)12 420 5644 hannie.deweerd@up.ac.za
Postgraduate: Bronwynne Swarts +27 (0)12420 5679 bronwynne.swarts@up.ac.za or Pulane Tau +27 (0)12 420 2725 pulane.tau@up.ac.za,
Distance Education: Rita Venter +27 (0)12420 5589 rita.venter@up.ac.za or Lorinda Theart +27 (0)12 420 4426 lorinda.theart@up.ac.za