PhD Education Management, Law and Policy

By | January 23, 2017

 

Image result for university of pretoria

PhD Education Management, Law and Policy

Admission Requirements

Subject to the stipulations of the General Regulations a candidate can be admitted if he/she holds one of the following qualifications:

  • a Bachelor’s degree and a teacher’s diploma/Postgraduate Certificate in
  • Education (eg BA + HED); or a four year composite degree in Education (eg BAEd); or
  • an M+4 teacher’s diploma; or
  •  an M+3 teacher’s diploma and a Further Diploma in Education (FDE) or an Advanced Certificate in Education (ACE); or
  • another academic qualification considered equivalent by the Dean for admission to a specific package. In this instance the qualification will not be recognised for teaching purposes.

 

Additional Requirements

Selection is based on:

  • Meeting the minimum academic requirements required for admission;
  • Previous academic performance;
  • Applicable academic and/or teaching background;
  • Availability of supervision for the required research project;
  • Proven academic potential which may include academic communication and computer application skills;
  • Additionally, an interview may be requested;
  • The requirements of professional registration bodies;
  • The discretion of the head of department.

Examinations and pass requirements

Subject to exceptions approved by the Dean, on the recommendation of the head of the department, a student may not sit for an examination for the honours degree more than twice in the same module.
A final-year student who has failed a maximum of three semester modules or their equivalent, with a final mark of at least 40% in each, may be admitted by the Dean to a special examination/s in these modules during January of the following year, provided that this will enable the student to comply with all the requirements for the degree.

CONTACT US
General Enquiries:  +27 (0)12 420 4670 or Vida Moses, +27 (0)12 420 4216  vida.moses@up.ac.za
Undergraduate: Thandi Mngomezulu  +27 (0)12 420 5615 thandi.mngomezulu@up.ac.za or Hannie de Weerd +27 (0)12 420 5644 hannie.deweerd@up.ac.za
Postgraduate: Bronwynne Swarts +27 (0)12420 5679 bronwynne.swarts@up.ac.za or Pulane Tau +27 (0)12 420 2725 pulane.tau@up.ac.za,
Distance Education: Rita Venter +27 (0)12420 5589 rita.venter@up.ac.za or Lorinda Theart +27 (0)12 420 4426 lorinda.theart@up.ac.za