BScHons Computer Science

Image result for university of pretoria

BScHons Computer Science

Programme Information

This degree programme is offered in English only. The degree is conferred on a student who successfully completes at least 120 credits of coursework in Computer Science at honours level. Consult G Regulations G.16 to G.29

Admission Requirements

A BSc degree, majoring in Computer Science from a South African university (or equivalent) with an average of 60% over all third-year computer science modules, is required for admission to this degree programme. Students from outside South Africa need to obtain a certificate from the South Afican Qualifications Authority (SAQA) before admission will be considered. The Head of Department may prescribe additional conditions for admission.

Other programme-specific information

The Dean, on the recommendation of the Head of Department, may approve a stipulated limited extension of the prescribed period of study.
Details regarding postgraduate modules are available at
Note that some of the elective modules might not be presented each year. Consult the departmental website for the list of modules presented in the current year.
One elective module can be selected from outside the Department of Computer Science, subject to the approval of the programme manager, and provided that there are no lecture and exam clashes with Computer Science modules.

Examinations and pass requirements

In calculating marks, G Regulation G.12.2 is applicable. However, a student is required to obtain at least 50% in an examination in a module where no semester or year mark is required. In those cases where a year mark or semester mark is available, a subminimum of 40% must be obtained in the examination.
The Dean may, on the recommendation of the admissions committee, cancel the studies of a student who fails more than one module in an academic year. A module may only be repeated once. No supplementary examinations are granted at postgraduate level.
See also  University of Stellenbosch Biokinetics

Pass with Distinction

The BScHons degree is awarded with distinction to a candidate who obtains a weighted average of at least 75% in all the prescribed modules and who did not fail any module.
Undergraduate applications and admissions:
Ms Jenny van Rooyen
012 4205166
Ms Samantha Adams
012 4202450
Undergraduate and Honours:
Ms E Willemse
012 4202724
School of Information Technology
Ms P Ngwenya
012 4204186
School for the Built Environment
Mr R Mashiloane
012 4203656
School of Engineering
Ms MPM Motlhamme
012 4205299
Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
Ms L Rix
012 4206625
Mechanical Engineering
Ms N Potgieter
012 4202987
Industrial and Metallurgical Engineering
Ms TMM Motsei
012 4206520
Chemical and Mining Engineering
Mr MJ Makhasa
012 4202142
Civil Engineering
Mr K Nkanyana
012 4206735
Honours and Honours applications
Ms SL Mgiba
012 4205316
Masters and Doctoral:
School of Information Technology
Civil Engineering
Metallurgical Engineering
Ms Dawn Taljaard
012 4204095
Graduate School of Technology Management
Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
Mr Refentse Ramatong
012 4203011
Chemical Engineering
Industrial Engineering
Mechanical Enineering
Mining Engineering
Construction Economics
Town and Regional Planning
Ms Stefanie Steenberg
012 4205315